Crossing Me

First off, let me say that I’ve thought David Cross was hilarious before I even heard him speak.

Back in the 1990s there were these things made out of paper called “magazines.” I used to subscribe to SPIN Magazine and “Mr. Show” placed a full-page ad in there, or maybe a review. I remember seeing Bob Odenkirk and David Cross making goofy faces and I laughed out loud. I cut out the ad and hung it on my wall even though I’d never seen the show.

Then, years later I moved to New York City. I sat in my favorite bar and in walked…David Cross. Nobody seemed to know who he was and I told him how I sort of had a poster of him on my wall growing up. This was way before some of his other bigger things. He was so cool about it all.

Now, I’m sure people would say, “Oh, you’re the blue guy wannabe in ‘Arrested Development!’ You’re hilarious! Where’s your mustache?”

Just a few days after watching some of his stand-up comedy, I checked and saw that we weren’t Twitter buddies and wrote to him. And he wrote back! Maybe it was his assistant or maybe it was him, but I thought it was awesome and made my day. Then another person commented on my original Tweet and Cross (or his assistant/dog/friend) commented back and forth. How cool!

David Cross: Bigger and Blackerer — Grade: A+

Stand-up comedy is one of my favorite things in the world.

Comedy is the most difficult thing to do correctly and the easiest thing to do awfully. Nothing is worse than a bad comic or crappy comedy movie.

The other day I just let my YouTube play and David Cross came along and he read an open letter to Larry the Cable Guy. I decided to just watch the first David Cross special I could find and he was absolutely hilarious.

I certainly wouldn’t want my parents in the room, because they’d want him kicked out of the country.

David Cross: The Pride is Back — Grade: A+

Strangely enough, I kind of worked my way backwards from his newer stuff to his older stuff. It’s still funny. I even decided to pick up his book, but then decided to listen to it since I’m walking now that I can’t go to the gym. (I like to read while on the cardio machines in case you were wondering).

In all of his stand-up comedy and even his book, Cross is so creative and tricks people in this way or that. It’s hard to explain. He’s really great at it.

Cross is truly a celebrity I’d like to hang out with more than most, but would have no idea what to talk about because I’d be really nervous around him. I guess I was nervous around him the first time, but he hadn’t really hit the world stage. Maybe we’d talk about “Rick and Morty” and Sigerien scammers…

Leave a comment